Auction 172B

Iconic Finnish Design from a Private Collection

05. December 2023 at 6:00 PM CEST

We are pleased to offer you important Finnish design from a private collection at the end of the year. The auction will feature around 160 rare, early versions of furniture designs and lights that are in great demand on the market. Among them are designs by Alvar Aalto with important provenances, as well as numerous rare and beautiful lamps by Paavo Tynell, Lisa Johansson-Pape and as well as rarities by Tapio Wirkkala.

Among the highlights of the offering are undoubtedly the characterful 'Aulanko' lounge chairs designed by Märta Blomstedt for the Aulanko Hotel in Hämeenlinna - a pair enter the fray at an estimated €22,000-30,000.

In 1958, Tapio Wirkkala designed the anniversary show of Finland's most important metal and goldsmith manufacturer Kultakeskus at the Stockmann department store in Helsinki. Not only the furniture, but also many exhibits came from his fether. In the auction we present a floating sculpture in the shape of a star as designed by Tapio Wirkkala for the interior of the anniversary show. The 'Explosion' object is called for an estimated € 25.000 - 30.000. According to the collector, only seven copies were made. In addition, Wirkkala is represented by two unique floor lights from the 1950s for Idman Oy (estimated prices € 2.000 - 3.000 each), among other exciting designs.

Paavo Tynell's lights also raise the offer to an excellent level. The collection shows about 30 positions of the exceptional light designer. Originally from the Serla paper mill in Mänta, the two ceiling lamps with the corresponding reflectors are among the highlights of the offer for an estimated € 25.000 - 30.000. Special attention deserves likewise two ceiling lamps with shades of honey-colored glass for Taito from the 1940s (estimate € 10.000 - 12.000) as well as two unique ceiling lamps with white glass shades. The slightly smaller in diameter of both goes with the provenance from the family of the designer between € 8,000 and 10,000 in the auction. Lovers of Tynell's lamps will certainly find what they are looking for among the numerous appliqués and floor lamps that enrich the offer. On the other hand, some of the table lamps on offer, including various examples from the 'Senator' series, go back to the design of lighting designer Lisa Johansson-Pape.

Among the most iconic designs in Finnish design history are Alvar Aalto's armchairs and chairs that he conceived for the Paimio Sanatorium. The early version of the '41' Paimio armchair establishes the estimate between € 10,000 and 12,000. We also present a set of the '42' free-swinging armchair and the '915' side table at an estimate of €4,000 - 7,000. In addition, the Finnish architect is prominently represented with numerous other furniture models such as the '60' stools and lighting models such as 'Hand Grenade' or the pendant light 'Golden Bell' - over 30 items are desigend by Alvar Aalto, including a desk, serving trolley, a closet and an extremely rare rocking chair (€ 5.000 - 7.000). Aino Aalto is the designer of the garden chairs '310' and garden tables '330' with tops in the form of abstracted sunflowers. Originally designed for Villa Mairea in Noormarkku, the furniture will delight collectors. They are called in the set with estimated € 8.000 - 10.000.

Of course, in an auction dedicated to Finnish Design one can not miss examples from the series 'Pirkka' by Ilmari Tapiovaara. In this furniture series, the architect and designer returned from designing for public spaces to designing for private use. Originally, the stool 'Pirkka' was intended for cooling down sitting on it after a sauna session. The other furniture in the series builds on the same minimalist craftsman-like design language as, for example, the set with table and four chairs 'Pirkka', which appear in the catalog for an attractive € 1,500 - 2,000.

The superb offering is rounded out by exciting and iconic designs by Eero Aarnio, Carl Johan Bormann, 1980s designs by Yrjö Kukkapuro, Erik Brygmann, Olavi Kettunen, Kaj Franck, Timo Sarpaneva and others.