Auction 161D

Oiva Toikka - Birds
A Private Collection

24. February 2022 at 3:00 PM

Live Auction starts in

days
hours
minutes
seconds

Viewing
17. February 2022 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
18. February 2022 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
19. February 2022 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
20. February 2022 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
21. February 2022 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM


Bid with Quittenbaum

We broadcast all our auctions live on the internet. To bid via our website, you need a verified customer account. This allows you to place bids in advance via the individual view of the objects, or you can register for live bidding.

If you would like to send us your bids by fax or post, please download the following bid form to print out.
Download Bid form


Catalogue

Oiva Toikka - Birds
All lots Buy auction catalogue

20.00 € including VAT plus shipping costs


"I am not looking for perfection, I want it to be fun".

Oiva Kalervo Toikka (1931-2019) is one of Scandinavia's most important glass artists, and his 'Birds' series earned him a prominent place in the history of modern art glass. Born in 1931 in Viipuri (Viborg), having finished his studies at the Helsinki College of Art and Design, he began his career as a ceramic designer at the Arabia Porcelain Manufactory, where he worked from 1956 to 1959. After an interlude as a lecturer at the Academy of Art, he moved to Nuutajärvi, where he worked for the local glass manufactory. Inspired by Finnish folk art and international Pop Art, he created glass sculptures in bright colors such as the Kurkkupurkki (cucumber glasses) as well as the 'Lollipops' built up from several layers of colored glass and clear glass, which were realized in limited numbers. The tableware series Kastehelmi (Dew Drop, 1964) of pressed glass has been particularly popular and commercially successful, it is still distributed today all over the world by Iittala after they merged with Nuutajärvi in 1988.

Oiva Toikka became most famous for his series of glass birds 'Birds by Toikka' for Nuutajärvi. Often inspired by real animals, but sometimes born of imagination, the series, which has now grown to over 400 designs, includes specimens from the entire birdlife: crows, seagulls, swans, ducks, owls, chickens and finches, to name but a few. Mouth-blown, each bird is unique. The series began in 1972 with the small 'Sieppos', flycatchers. In the years that followed, these were launched in various colors, depending on what colored glass was available at the time. These were followed by the somewhat larger 'Kiikkuri'. In 1979, the magazine 'Kotiliesi' offered one of the colorful Toikka birds from the Christmas exhibition at the Nuutajärvi Museum, fueling the success story of the birds as collectibles. The more popular the birds became, the more Toikka's ambitions grew to fully utilize his glassblowers' skills for his designs. From 1996, the charming figurines were successfully marketed under the title 'Birds of Toikka', the same year Iittala began issuing limited editions of new year birds and new year eggs.

Against this background, we are very pleased to have been entrusted with a particularly extensive and exciting compilation from the estate of a German collector. The collection comprises around 350 objects, including new year birds, new year eggs, two new year cubes and anniversary birds from limited editions. In search of beautiful objects, the collector even traveled to Nuutajärvi and met Oiva Toikka, the creator of the objects of his collecting desire. Various early versions of the ‚Flycatchers', designed from the early to mid 1970s are represented in the catalog. In addition, the owl birds and eagle owls, with their large eyes and individual faces, are among the most expressive designs. While Toikka put the bodies of many of the birds into reduced and streamlined shapes, the decors appear all the more playful - Toikka's executing glassblowers experimented with combed thread decors, fused murrines and metal oxides, the alternation of transparent and opaque sections in order to exaggerate the biodiversity and multifaceted nature of Scandinavian birdlife into the striking and fantastical.

Secure your favorite bird. We hope you enjoy bidding in the auction.

Auktion 161D

Oiva Toikka - Birds
Eine Privatsammlung

24. Februar 2022 um 15:00


„I am not looking for perfection, I want it to be fun“

Oiva Kalervo Toikka (1931-2019) gehört zu den wichtigsten Glaskünstlern Skandinaviens, und mit seiner Vogelserie ‚Birds’ eroberte er sich einen herausragenden Platz in der Geschichte der modernen Glaskunst. Geboren 1931 in Viipuri (Viborg), begann er nach dem Studium an der Hochschule für Kunst und Design in Helsinki seine Karriere als Keramikdesigner bei der Porzellanmanufaktur Arabia, wo er von 1956 bis 1959 tätig war. Nach einem Intermezzo als Lehrbeauftragter an der Kunstakademie zog er nach Nuutajärvi, wo er für die dort ansässige Glasmanufaktur tätig wurde. Inspiriert von finnischer Volkskunst und der internationalen Pop Art schuf er Glasskulpturen in leuchtenden Farben wie die Kurkkupurkki (Gurkengläser) sowie die aus mehreren farbigen Glasschichten und Klarglas aufgebauten ‚Lollipops’, die in limitierter Stückzahl realisiert wurden. Besonders beliebt und kommerziell erfolgreich ist die Geschirrserie aus Pressglas Kastehelmi (Tauperle, 1964), die heute nach der Fusion von Nuutajärvi mit Iittala im Jahr 1988 über Iittala in die ganze Welt vertrieben wird.

Berühmt wurde Oiva Toikka vor allem für seine Glasvögel-Serie ‚Birds by Toikka’ für Nuutajärvi. Oft von realen Tieren inspiriert, manchmal aber auch der Fantasie entsprungen, umfasst die mittlerweile über 400 Entwürfe angewachsene Serie Exemplare aus der gesamten Vogelwelt: Krähen, Möwen, Schwäne, Enten, Eulen, Hühner und Finken, um nur einige zu nennen. Mundgeblasen ist jeder Vogel einzigartig. Die Serie nahm 1972 mit den kleinen ‚Sieppos’, den Fliegenschnäppern, ihren Anfang. Diese wurden in den folgenden Jahren in diversen Farben aufgelegt wurden, je nachdem, welches farbige Glas zu jener Zeit verfügbar war. Es folgten die etwas größeren ‚Kiikkuri’. 1979 bot das Magazin ‚Kotiliesi‘ einen farbenfrohen Toikka-Vogel aus einer Weihnachtsausstellung im Nuutajärvi Museum zum Kauf an und befeuerte so die Erfolgsgeschichte der Vögel als Sammelobjekte. Je beliebter die Vögel wurden, desto mehr wuchsen Toikkas Ambitionen, die Fähigkeiten der Glasbläser für seine Entwürfe voll auszuschöpfen. Ab 1996 wurden die charmanten Figuren unter dem Titel ’Birds of Toikka’ erfolgreich vermarktet, im selben Jahr begann Iittala mit limitierten Editionen von Jahresvögeln und Jahreseiern.

Vor diesem Hintergrund freuen wir uns sehr, dass uns eine besonders umfangreiche und spannende Sammlung aus dem Nachlass eines deutschen Sammlers zum Verkauf anvertraut wurde. Die Kollektion umfasst rund 350 Objekte, darunter auch Jahresvögel, Jahreseier, zwei Jahreskuben und Jubiläumsvögel aus limitierten Editionen. Auf der Suche nach schönen Exemplaren reiste der Sammler auch nach Nuutajärvi und traf dort Oiva Toikka, den Schöpfer der Objekte seiner Sammelleidenschaft. Vertreten im Katalog sind diverse frühe Ausführungen der von Anfang bis Mitte der 1970er Jahre entworfenen ‚Fliegenschnäpper‘. Außerdem gehören die Eulenvögel und Uhus mit ihren großen Augen und individuellen Gesichtern zu den ausdrucksstärksten Entwürfen. Während Toikka die Körperformen vieler Vögel reduziert und stromlinienförmig gestaltete, erscheinen die Dekore umso verspielter - Toikkas ausführende Glasbläser experimentierten mit gekämmten Fadendekoren, aufgeschmolzenen Murrinen und Metalloxiden, dem Wechsel von transparenten und opaken Partien, um die Artenvielfalt und den Facettenreichtum der skandinavischen Vogelwelt ins Plakative und Phantastische zu überhöhen.

Sichern Sie sich Ihren Lieblingsvogel. Wir wünschen Ihnen viel Spaß beim Bieten.